The Many Lives and Secret Sorrows of Josephine B. by Sandra Gulland

Many Lives Secret Sorrows of Josephine

This is the first book in a trilogy of novels based on the life of Josephine Beauharnais. And what a life it was! Josephine was Napoleon’s mistress, wife and then Empress of France, a title she held until he traded her in for a young princess after she failed to produce a male heir. The story begins in Martinique, where Josephine’s father owned a sugar plantation. She arrives in Paris after an arranged marriage just in time for the French Revolution, where, needless to say, the actions heats up considerably. The first novel chronicles Josephine’s precarious existence as an aristocrat during the revolution and its aftermath, ending with her marriage to Napoleon. All three books are meticulously researched and immensely readable. Ms. Gulland pulls you into this fascinating woman’s life with great skill, to the point where you simply must read all three books.

Leave a Reply »

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.